Kumasi Technical University Inaugurates Audit Committee

Kumasi Technical University Inaugurates Audit Committee

Picture: The newly formed Audit Committee members with their Secretary. They are (from left to right) Mrs. Ama K. Boakye-Nti, Prof. Dadson Awunyo-Vitor, Mr. Sylvester Agyen, Prof. Joseph Mbawuni , Mr. Sampson Kumaning Adu Gyamfi and Mr. Isaac Owusu Ansah.  

A five-member team has been sworn in as the Kumasi Technical University (KsTU) Audit Committee. The brief ceremony was presided over by the Director-General of the Internal Audit Agency (IAA), Dr. Eric Oduro Osae, the Chairman of the University Governing Council, Prof. Dr. (Med.) Ben Baffoe-Bonnie, and attended by the Vice-Chancellor of KsTU, Prof. Osei Wusu-Achaw and some members of the University’s Senior Management. 

This action is in accordance with the provisions in Regulation 225 of the Public Financial Management Regulation 2019 (LI 2378), which require that all government institutions establish Audit Committees. 

In his opening remarks, the Vice-Chancellor welcomed the attendees on behalf of the Governing Council and expressed gratitude to the Director-General of the Internal Audit Agency for making time to officially constitute the Committee. In his remarks, he said, the Audit Committee is an important part of the Public Sector’s Governance Framework. He applauded the work of the outgoing Committee, which he said had benefited the University immensely. He added that its work has strengthened internal control procedures, and the University has been more careful with compliance. 

Prof. Dr. (Med.) Ben Baffoe-Bonnie, Chairman of the KsTU Governing Council, stated at the inaugural event that the Audit Committee was essential in the governance of the University and required the full support of Management and all key stakeholders to ensure that their mandate was successfully executed. 

Dr. Eric Oduro Osae who led the Committee to swear the Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy, indicated that serving on the Committee is a national duty and advised the Committee members to apply their expertise to the fiscal expansion of the University.  

He admonished the members on the need for confidentiality and to ensure that information they come across in the course of their work is handled professionally. He charged members to collaborate with the Internal Audit Directorate to provide direct advisory services to Management to prevent pitfalls. He encouraged the Committee to be responsive in submitting its quarterly and annual reports on its work. He further tasked the Management to implement recommendations from the Auditor General and also implement enterprise risk management. He congratulated the members on their appointment and wished them well. 

Earlier on, Prof. Joseph Mbawuni of the Institute of Chartered Accountants (ICA) was elected Chairman of the KsTU Audit Committee by his colleagues, as statutorily required. In his acceptance remarks, he asked for all stakeholders' support so that the Committee could carry out its responsibilities diligently. He hoped that his team would provide valuable insight, guidance, and the necessary support to the Vice-Chancellor and University Management. 

The Committee is chaired by Prof. Joseph Mbawuni, ICA Representative; the other members are Prof. Dadson Awunyo-Vitor, Internal Audit Agency Representative, Mr. Sampson Kumaning Adu Gyamfi; IAA Representative, Mr. Isaac Owusu Ansah and Mr. Sylvester Agyen as representatives from the University Council.  Mrs. Ama K. Boakye-Nti (Deputy Registrar- Academic Affairs Office) is Secretary to the Committee. 

Present at the ceremony was the Registrar, Mr. Ebenezer Kofi Boakye, Mr. Thomas Kwarfo, former Chairman of the Audit Committee University Relations Officer, Dr. Charles Obeng-Sarpong, Director of Finance, Mr. James Osei Brobbey and the Director of Internal Audit, Mr. Edward Ansah. 

Picture: The newly formed Audit Committee members with some Senior Members of the University. 


University Relations Office